General Information

The University Of Michigan-Dearborn

The University of Michigan-Dearborn (UM-Dearborn) is one of the three campuses of the University of Michigan operating under the policies of the Board of Regents.

The campus, located on the former estate of automotive pioneer Henry Ford, was founded in 1959 as a senior-level institution offering junior, senior, and graduate-level courses and degrees. In 1971, UM-Dearborn became a comprehensive university campus offering four-year degree programs in liberal arts and sciences and graduate programs at the master's degree level.

More than 9,100 students representing a wide range of academic interests and diverse backgrounds are currently enrolled at UM-Dearborn.

As part of the University of Michigan, UM-Dearborn enjoys the association with a large multi-university and the advantages of moderate size. Through expanded evening course offerings, professional development programs and cooperative education programs, UM-Dearborn continues to respond to the educational needs of commuting students from the Detroit metropolitan community.